FSU Libraries
FSU Libraries Home

Friends of the Florida State University Libraries Friends of the Florida State University Libraries

Board Members


Wayne Wiegand

Wayne A. Wiegand is F. William Summers Professor of Library and Information Studies Emeritus, Director of the Florida Book Awards, and a noted library historian, having authored Irrepressible Reformer: A Biography of Melvil Dewey (1995), and Main Street Public Library: Reading Spaces and Community Places in the Rural Heartland (2011). He has used, benefited from, and loved libraries all his life.

Immediate Past President

John Fenstermaker

John Fenstermaker, Fred L. Standley Professor of English and University Distinguished Teacher at Florida State University. He specializes in Victorian and Modern American literature and culture. Mr. Fenstermaker has been President of the Florida College English Association, the Florida Association of Departments of English, the South Atlantic Association of Departments of English, and Director of the Program in American and Florida Studies at FSU. He is a member of the Administrative Committee of the Southern American Studies Association. In 2005, he served as President of the South Atlantic Modern Language Association.

Vice President / President Elect



Kris Harper

Secretary - Treasurer


Julia Zimmerman

Julia Zimmerman has been Dean of University Libraries at Florida State University since 2007. Prior to her appointment at FSU she was Dean of Libraries at Ohio University. From 1979-1999 she held several positions at Georgia Tech and has served at Penn State and Wake Forest Universities.

She is a 1970 graduate of Florida State University and received her graduate library degree from Emory University.

Since joining the FSU Libraries, Julia has overseen several renovations aimed at providing a variety of academic support services not typically found in libraries. She has also increased the support for Special Collections with its extraordinary collection of rare books and manuscripts, and Heritage Protocol, a unique program which collects artifacts and documents related to FSU's history.


Julia Skinner

Julia Skinner is a doctoral student in the School of Library & Information Studies. She is a lifelong lover of libraries, and recently published her first book. Her research interests include social media use and library history. She is originally from Boulder, Colorado and received her BA, her Master's in Library and Information Science, and her Center for the Book certificate from the University of Iowa.

Don Latham

Don Latham is an Associate Professor in the School of Library & Information Studies at Florida State University. His research focuses on information-seeking behavior of young adults, information literacy, and literature for young adults. He has served as President of the Friends of the FSU Libraries and has chaired the Young Adult Literature Committee of The Florida Book Awards. He is currently chairing the Young Adult Library Services Association's Research Committee and is serving on the American Library Association's Committee on Research and Statistics.

Chair, Nominating Committee

Jasmine Spitler

Jasmine Spitler is a sophomore at Florida State University. She is pursuing a degree in English (Editing, Writing, & Media) and Political Science. She is currently doing research in the Undergraduate Research Opportunity Program in both of her fields of study, and thus is a frequent visitor to the FSU libraries.

Leigh Edwards

Leigh H. Edwards is an Associate Professor of English and the author of JOHNNY CASH AND THE PARADOX OF AMERICAN IDENTITY (Indiana University Press, 2009). Her research focuses on media studies, including media literacy, as well as topics in American literature and popular culture from the 19th century to the present.

Anne Rowe

Anne Rowe is a specialist in Southern literature. Until her retirement this year, she was a member of the Department of English. She has held several administrative positions at FSU, including English Department chair, Associate Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, and Dean of the Faculties and Deputy Provost.

Chair, Committee on Awards

Cay Hohmeister


Cay Hohmeister is the Director of the LeRoy Collins Leon County Public Library System.  She received her undergraduate degree in History from Eckerd College in St. Petersburg and her MS from the Simmons College Graduate School of Library and Information Science. She also has worked at the State Library of Florida and in publishing.  She and her husband are proud parents of two FSU graduates.

Chair, Faculty Senate Library Committee

Dennis Moore

Banned Books Week

Dennis Moore, a University Distinguished Teaching Professor, has served on the Friends' Board continuously since 1994; along the way he served as V.P., coordinating the Friends' programs (1995-2005) and briefly (early 2002) as president. Since 1998 he has served continuously on the Faculty Senate Library Committee, having been elected its chair each year since 2008. His scholarship touches on early American literature and culture in general and on J. Hector St. John de Crèvecoeur in particular; Harvard University Press is publishing his revised and enlarged edition of Letters From an American Farmer.

Association of Retired Faculty Representative

Fred L. Standley

Fred L. Standley is Daisy Parker Flory Professor Emeritus and  former Chair of the Department of English, former President of the Friends 1989-1995 and recipient of its Distinguished Service Award,  and is the first recipient of the University’s Distinguished Service Award.  He continues  to teach part-time on campus a course on censorship entitled “Banned Books in America” and to teach in the summer at the London Study Center.   He is a bibliophile, with special interests in James Baldwin, Graham Greene and John Updike.

Alumni Association Representative

Mandi Young



Join the Friends of the Florida State University Libraries now!
© MMXI Florida State University Libraries
Florida State University Libraries FSU Home