You are here

Research Guides

Research Guides provide assistance to access and understand our collections as well as providing information about other materials outside of Special Collections.

Artists' Books
Artists' books are considered works of art conceived and generated in book format. They are usually produced in limited editions, can exist outside a gallery and aim to be an interactive experience in order to merge the exclusive nature of art with the accessible nature of a hand held book. This guide is a mere glimpse of the current list of more than 200 titles held by Special Collections.

The Civil War
This guide provides an extensive list of the collections pertaining to the Civil War held by Special Collections.

Facsimiles of Medieval Manuscripts and Incunabula
This guide will help you locate high-quality facsimiles. Many facsimiles have an accompanying commentary that serves as a guide to interpreting the manuscript. 

Florida State University History
Learn about the history of Florida State University and its predecessor institutions through this guide which lists both books and manuscript collections that would be helpful.

HoTT Resources
This guide contains information about locating unique and hard to find materials in the University Libraries that may be of use to History of Text Technologies students and faculty. Rather than identifying relevant article databases or providing tips on locating secondary sources, this guide's focus is on locating collections of primary resources in vellum, paper, microform and online.

The John MacKay Shaw Collection
The John MacKay Shaw Collection consists of books, works of art, manuscripts, catalogs and ephemera related to childhood. The collection includes bibliographies, biographies, literature, poetry, and criticism. This guide provides information on the books and manuscript materials in the collection.

Native Americans
At Florida State University, you have access to one of the world’s finest collections of documents that relate to Native Americans in the South. The guide contains many classic texts and collections that are either held at FSU or available electronically.

X
You will be redirected to the secure CAS login page.
You will be redirected to the secure CAS login page.